Looks like a college bulletin board

Gig posters have always had a special place in my heart. Now whenever I see them, I reflect on the many days I walked by bulletin boards on campus covered in concert posters. The tradition of gig posters started in the 60’s and now have grown to become a collector item amongst music and concert enthusiasts everywhere. As the popularity has grown, so has the musician awareness of this trend. Many artists now hold contests to design their next poster or tour logos. If I had the skill, I would quit everything I do and be an aspiring gig poster designer. But, since it’s 20 degrees outside and a cardboard box doesn’t have the best insulation, I think I’ll keep my job and leave designing posters to the pros.

Here are some of my favorites posters from some of my favorite bands that I came across on the spectacular site Gig Posters. But wait, act now and I’ll include music recommendations for each band. Call within the next 20 minutes and I’ll include my old Discman* from 6th grade! Shipping and handling is extra. Sorry, no CODs.

Allman Brothers Band – Ain’t Wastin’ No More Time

Kings of Leon – Fans

Bassnectar – Pleasure the Bassnympho

Vampire Weekend – Campus

Umphreys McGee – Miss Tinkle’s Overture

311 – All Mixed Up

Talking Heads – Life During Wartime

North Mississippi Allstars – Sugar Town

Dave Matthews Band – So Much to Say

Pretty Lights – If I Could Feel Again

Phish – Back on the Train

Modest Mouse – Ocean Breathes Salty

*I have no intentions of sending you my Discman from 6th grade. It’s an antique fool!

1 Comment

Filed under Awesome, Totally Awesome, Design, Dustin Akers, Obsessed, Straight Twisted

One response to “Looks like a college bulletin board

  1. Jenny

    awesome! i would kill for the modest mouse poster!!

Leave a Reply

