K-I-S-S-I-N-G Remix

There are certain games that remain constant through generations. Like patty cake, TV tag, kickball, cooties, etc. But now that our culture is evolving to become more accepting, risqué and individualistic, I can’t help but wonder if the more traditional games are still even present. One being, the K-I-S-S-I-N-G song we often sung to embarrass our friends whiled we played. In case you’ve forgotten, it goes as follows:

“Jordan and Dustin sitting in a tree. K-I-S-S-I-N-G. First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes a baby in the baby carriage.”

Now as far as I know, this isn’t even the case anymore. It’s pretty obvious times are changing. Relationships are not as traditional as they once were. We can shrug the expectation once enforced by society. People are more free to choose their own path, whether it involves a partner, a child, or neither. When I was a young dashing school girl, I imagined to have my first child by now, but man oh my, would that be a nightmare. At this point, puppies sound like a better option.

So why sing a song that isn’t even relevant anymore? It’s time to switch it up. 50% of marriages end in divorce. Maybe it’s because of the kissing song. Not sure. But if kids are going to sing it, there should be at least 6 versions, maybe even one with several people sitting in a tree. The polygamous kids need a song to sing too you know. Heck, kids could already be singing, “David and Keith sitting in a tree. K-I-S-S-I-N-G. First comes love, then comes marriage if you live in New Hampshire, Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, Vermont, or Washington, D.C.” I just hope after all these years of kissing, kids have gotten splinters in their butts and the sharp pain has caused them to look around and see a new reality.

6 Comments

Filed under Jordan Sullivan, Straight Twisted, Think

6 responses to “K-I-S-S-I-N-G Remix

  1. Jordan, excellent post. And yes, the times they are a changing.

  2. beaze knees

    …But what happens if you skip the marriage part and jump strait to the baby in the baby carriage? When in the equation do you save money for the wedding and child rearing? What about college? Also the song fails to mention what happens after the baby in the baby carriage…

    good post!

  3. Pat

    Great insight, especially given the recent flack that The Washington Post received for publishing a photo of two men kissing outside of the Courthouse when gay marriage was legalized in D.C.!

  4. Amber

    Jordan and Dustin sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G, first comes love, then comes marriage, then comes an abrupt, tragic miscarriage. Then comes blame, then comes despair, two hearts broken beyond repairs. Johnny leaves Marrisa and takes the tree, D-I-V-O-R-C-E

  5. Joei

    I need a funny version of this. I’m tormenting my friend that he’s gay(he’s not). So I need Adam and Ryan sittin in ah tree K I S S I N G first comes love then comes AIDs…. And idk what else to say help me out!!

  6. Jenny

    Jordan and Dustin sitting in a tree, doing something they shouldn’t be. Starts with an s and ends with an x. OMG their having sex

Leave a Reply

