TMA – Too Many Ads

I go to the movies for two reasons:

1. For an escape. You can turn off your phone, ignore emails, and all that mumble jumble for a couple hours.

2. For the experience; the smells, sneaking in a bag of Peanut M&Ms, kicking the chair in front of me numerous times by accident, and of course, the movie previews.

I always make it a point to arrive in time to watch the trailers, no matter how cheesy and awful some look. But now, it sucks tennis balls that commercials are played during movie previews! Not only that, more commercials than previews! I only saw 2 trailors, before being forced to sit through 5 commercials, including one advertising Bod. No, I do not want your bod. I want to watch a preview with two M&Ms melting in each cheek. Previews make up the whole experience, and now it’s not the same because our world is becoming too infested with ads.

Ads are everywheeeere. Drive around, and you’ll see at least 5 cars in 5 minutes with advertising or signage on them. Ads are on tables, our phones, the back of bathroom stalls, etc. It’s absurd. When can you ever escape the madness? Pretty soon, there will be advertisements on individual sheets of toilet paper or ad dispensers at the park. Maybe Jehovahs Witnesses will start reciting ads. Who knows. All I know is, it’s beginning to be a bit much. Yes, I work within social media, but I’m not throwing ads in your face. I’m having conversations with people about brands and their products. It’s more human. Anything that pops up on my computer screen makes me want to take the Duck Hunt gun and shoot them.

Maybe it’s just me, but ads are changing how we experience the world to the point that we can’t turn it off. So how much is too much? There doesn’t seem to be any line. Especially since there are companies like Lease Your Body and TatAd offering people cash to get company logos tattooed on their body. $5,000 to get a logo tattooed on my forehead? Sure why not? I’ll take my honey out to a nice dinner.

As if!

What about you? Are you tired of all the ads? What do you think of all this?

3 Comments

Filed under Jordan Sullivan, Straight Twisted, Think

3 responses to “TMA – Too Many Ads

  1. nice thoughts, jo. i was thinking the same thoughts recently, when i drove up to a Tampa gas station and there was a little TV on the pump -playing only commercials the entire time I was pumping my gas. Oh wait, there was one quick little show telling and showing me how I can do exercises while I’m pumping my gas. well, at least that was good for me. HA. but seriously.. i agree. enough is enough… but i’m afraid, it’ll only get CrAzIeR as the days go by.
    —-You still have a Duck Hunt gun? jealous. LOL.

  2. That’s ridiculous! However, I’d love to know what those exercises were. Perhaps you can do a video demonstrating. 🙂

  3. haha… welllll, not sure if i’ll do a video for ya… but the basic exercise, was to have one leg stand on the little platform thing, cross the other leg over, and bend sideways… i think this stretched the IT band? hahahaha

Leave a Reply

